Under Manage, click on Drivers and courses, then click on the Group sequencing tab.
Group sequencing allows you to set-and-forget which groups your drivers belong to. It means you can automatically reveal additional content through the year or restrict access to content after a certain time period. It's quite flexible but can be a little daunting, so we advise that you check the examples below which should cover every option.
Note that if a module assignment is changed while the user is in the middle of a module, and that module becomes unavailable to the user, they will get an error on the results page. Group sequencing only affects access to optional modules, custom modules in the Fleet Driver Plan, learner licence main sections (car, motorbike, heavy vehicle), and the tourist section - anything you can alter in the Module availability page. Group sequencing will affect the drivers that Managers assigned to certain groups will see if a Manager is not assigned to a Group that a driver is moved to.
- Time interval: the number of days until the action is performed
- Next group: One or more groups that the user will be added to after the current group
- Action: Add the next group to this group, or replace this group with the next group
- Update: click this after you've made any changes to a specific group. Only change one group at a time.
- Delete: remove this rule (not the group itself).
Example 1: New content is released every 90 days (Fleet Driver Plan)
All drivers start in Q1. After 90 days they are added to Q2. After 90 days they are added to Q3 and so on. The number of modules available to them builds over time as they are added to new Groups. You can adopt a similar strategy by creating Groups named after the months.
Example 1: Moving a driver from Car 1 to Car 2, but without changing their location
All drivers belong to either Wellington or Auckland and that won't change, but we want to progress them from Car 1 to Car 2 after 30 days.
Set it up like in the following screenshot. After 30 days, Car 2 replaces Car 1.
Example 2: User starts in 1 group (Induction) is then moved to 2 groups (Auckland and Car 1), then Car 2 replaces Car 1
This is an extension of example 1. Let's assume that all users in your company are invited to the Induction group before they are assigned to any other groups. You might be using Induction as a way to filter candidates so you might not want them to belong to any other groups yet.
You send the driver invitation to the Induction group. Once they accept, they have 7 days to complete it before they are moved to Auckland and Car 1 and removed from Induction. 30 days later they are removed from Car 1 and added to Car 2. They then stay in Car 2 for the rest of the course duration.
Example 3: Assign a user to a group then unassign the user after a certain amount of time
A driver is assigned to Car 1. After 30 days you want to add them to Car 2 for 180 days. Therefore they have access to both Car 1 and Car 2. After 180 days you want to remove access to Car 2. You simply assign them back to Car 1, even though they already had access to Car 1. This replaces Car 2 with Car 1, achieving the result you need.
Example 4: Adding one group to another
Your driver has a certain number of modules available in Car 1 but there's no specific requirement to finish them all within a certain time period. You simply want to reveal more modules to them after 90 days, therefore you can add them to Car 2.
Rule submission errors
The rule submission errors are self-explanatory
Rule was not changed. You have submitted the same data
Time interval should be a number in days. You can't have anything other than a number in here, e.g. you can't say 'seven'
Time interval should not be less than 1 day(s). You can't have 0 or a negative number
Please set a Next Group for the group you are trying to update.